What properties qualify for exemption or reduction of tax?
There are several classifications of “exempt” and “use value” property which are taxed at a deferred rate until they are sold or no longer qualify for exempt or value status (at which time the owner will be billed the deferred tax amount for the current year and the three prior years). Property can be exempt if it is used for educational, charitable or religious purposes. Property that is historical or used for farm or forestry purposes may qualify for the use value program. A property retains its historical status until destroyed. An application must be filled out with Surry County’s Tax Office.

Show All Answers

1. What if I buy/sell my property during the year?
2. What if I disagree with my assessment?
3. What properties qualify for exemption or reduction of tax?
4. Is there a reduction of taxes for elderly or disabled persons?
5. What are my options for payment of my tax bill?
6. When are property taxes due and are there interest and penalties for late payment?
7. What happens if I make a payment by check and my check is returned by the bank?
8. Is a Federal Tax ID number the same as a Sales Tax Number?