Historic Preservation Commission


The purpose of the Historic Preservation Commission is to protect the heritage of Mount Airy's culture, history, architecture, and archaeology through the designation and preservation of historic resources. To that end, the Commission strives to promote the use and conservation of historic properties which embody important elements of our cultural, social, economic, or architectural history for the education, pleasure, and enrichment of the residents of Mount Airy, Surry County, and North Carolina.

Primary Roles and Responsibilities

  1. Identify individual landmarks of historic significance and recommend their designation as Historic Properties to the City Council
  2. Review applications requesting Certificates of Appropriateness when property modifications are proposed to a local historic landmark, or for a property located in the Local Historic District
    • Once a property receives designation, any change to the exterior of the structure must be approved by the Commission by the issuance of a Certificate of Appropriateness before work may commence.
    • Exterior changes include façade alterations, signage, vegetation removal, new construction, demolition, etc. Design guidelines, adopted by the commission for use in guiding such changes, ensure that local landmarks are preserved for future generations.


  • The third Wednesday of each month at 5:30 PM in the downstairs meeting room of the Municipal Building located at 300 S Main Street
  • Applications for Certificates of Appropriateness will be heard at the Commission's next meeting - typically on the third Tuesday of that month - if submitted by the first day of the month.
    • All applications must be submitted to the Planning Department at planning@mountairy.org
    • All accompanying attachments, including photographs, renderings and plans, must be submitted in PDF format. Failure to supply adequate documentation or required material may result in delays and the inability to process the application in a timely manner

Archived Meeting Minutes

View Archived Minutes


The Historic Preservation Commission is composed of volunteer citizens who have been appointed by the City's Board of Commissioners to a 3-year renewable term (3-term maximum). Generally, members have an interest or experience in history, architecture, archaeology, or related fields. 

  • Mary Fawcett (Chair)      
  • Mary Planer (Vice-Chair)
  • Bobbie Collins 
  • Shelby King
  • Andrew Liles
  • Sheila Welker
  • Betty Wright (Emeritus)

Want to get Involved?

Serving on the Historic Preservation Commission can offer you an opportunity to understand how your local government works and allows you to make a direct contribution to protecting and preserving our irreplaceable historic resources. 

If you are interested in serving on the Historic Preservation Commission, please contact the Planning & Development Department at (336) 786-3520 or planning@mountairy.org.

Historic Preservation Commission Brochure

Historic Preservation Commission Brochure

Historic Preservation

Click here for more information